North Wales Crusaders are a professional rugby league club based at Stadiwm ZipWorld in Colwyn Bay. We compete in League 1, the third tier of rugby league in the UK.


May 1

We were formed in 2012 out of the ashes of Crusaders RL, who competed in Super League, and are the only professional rugby league in the North Wales region. The only other professional club in Wales are West Wales Raiders.

May 1

We have since gone on to achieve a number of pieces of silverware. In our second season as a club in 2013 under head coach Clive Griffiths, we won the Northern Rail Bowl with victory over London Skolars in Halifax and lifted the League 1 title to secure promotion to the Championship. 

May 1

Despite finishing 11th in the Championship table in 2014, a restructure of the league meant we dropped back down to League 1, with Anthony Murray taking over as head coach towards the end of that campaign.

May 1

In 2015, we lifted the iPro Sport Cup in Blackpool with a win over Swinton Lions and made the League 1 play-offs later in the season.

May 1

2016 saw Crusaders finish 10th in League 1 and we competed in the League 1 Shield, a competition for the bottom half of the table, losing out narrowly to Newcastle Thunder in the final.

May 1

Following Murray’s departure at the end of the 2016 campaign, Mike Grady was appointed as the club’s new head coach, guiding us to a ninth-place finish in 2017 and losing out to Barrow Raiders in the iPro Sport Cup final.

May 1

On the back of a tough start to 2018, Grady left his position and Murray returned for a second spell in charge, improving performances in the latter part of the campaign.

May 1

In his first full season back as head coach in 2019, Murray helped Crusaders finish seventh, missing out on the play-offs by just a couple of points in a campaign where we surprised a number of the division’s leading clubs.

May 1

Having retained the vast majority of a strong-looking 2020 squad during the pandemic, Murray will be looking for his side to progress further in 2021.



Northern Rail Bowl – 2013

League 1 – 2013

iPro Sport Cup – 2015

NWC Rugby League